Hello internet!

Well this is exciting!

Hello reader! My name’s Elizabeth, I’m 17 and I currently live in Essex – although I like to think I don’t quite conform to the TOWIE image of Essex girls which unfortunately seems to be quite a commonplace stereotype!

This is the first of what I hope will be a long succession of guest blogs on the Pretty Ugly site – this is sort of my second involvement in the Pretty Ugly project, as one fine day, many moons ago in October 2012, my friends and I were dawdling around in Brick Lane when we were approached by Louise, who asked us if we wanted to get involved in her project. Having not heard about the ‘Pretty/Ugly’ video trend before, I was horrified, especially given the age of some of the girls who had made these videos, but not entirely surprised that something like this would emerge from the internet, having paid witness to much internet drama over Facebook, Ask.fm and other similar social networks. We were all filmed discussing our opinions on social media, body image among young girls and in particular the video trend, and also completed sheets reading ‘I AM…’ at the top, adding a positive trait about ourselves which wasn’t to do with body image – my sheet which proclaims ‘I AM… a rock ‘n’ roll nerd!’ (complete with appallingly drawn drum kit) is still stuck proudly on my bedroom wall back at home!

To tell you a little bit about myself, as you may have identified from the end of the last paragraph I am a ridiculously huge music fan, and I spend a sizeable amount of my money on CDs at HMV – yes, I’m old school, I still buy CDs… and listen to them on my CD player… from 2002… which only has one fully functioning speaker and a dodgy volume control system… ahem. Some of the bands who I have spent hours of my life obsessing over include the Stone Roses, Radiohead, Muse, Green Day, Arctic Monkeys (whose new album I can’t stop listening to right now) and probably a few more who I’ve forgotten. I’m a keen musical performer too and am working towards my Grade 8 clarinet – although, aware that this isn’t the coolest instrument out there (:-P), I play a little bit of guitar and am eager to buy myself a bass! I’m in my last year of school and I’m hoping to go to university next September to study German and Russian. I’m also a complete nerd for drama and theatre, so if I’m not pining after Berlin or Moscow, I’m probably working out when the next time will be that I can make the journey to London to see another play! Another important thing about me is that I am proud to call myself a feminist – so expect that to be a common topic in my posts to this blog! At school I lead the Amnesty International youth group, so I’m a firm believer in equal rights for all people around the world and always hungry for some sort of issue to debate!

So yes, from now on I shall be battling my occasional tendency to procrastinate and occasionally stressful Sixth Form studies to try and blog around once a week! I hope you’ll join me for what promises to be an… interesting journey through the blogosphere. 😉

‘Til the next time!

Elizabeth

Leave a comment